With the Steam Summer Sale coming to an end, it’s time to make those final purchases. There were quite a few items on my wishlist this year and it’s been quite difficult for me to chose which games to buy.

If you saw my last post you will have seen that the main games I was eyeing up were NieR:Automata, Tales of Berseria, Total War: Warhammer, God Eater 2 Rage Burst and Black Desert Online. I actually only bought two of these games.

So in the end I bought:

God Eater 2 Rage Burst

Popular Steam User Tags: Anime, Action, RPG, Character Customisation.

This game is both Single and Multiplayer and can be played with keyboard/mouse or controller. It has Steam achievements and trading cards.

1039119-god-eater-2-rage-burst

I heard about this game a while ago and I thought it looked somewhat similar to the playstyle of RWBY: Grimm Eclipse which I bought last Christmas. The game also comes with God Eater Resurrection (the first game). The majority of the reviews said the second game was far better than the first so I started playing Rage Burst first. After 2 hours of gameplay I decided I liked the progression of the game and the story seemed quite rich, so I decided to start on the first game rather than playing any further.

I’ve reached about 5 hours play time over both games and I’m happy I bought this as I think it’s something that will have plenty of play hours and a game that I could get into story wise. At £13.59 (66% off) it was a good price, especially as you get God Eater Resurrection with it!

Overview:

  • + Character Customization
  • + Crafting and upgrading of weapons and armour
  • + Rich story (not really got far into it yet though)
  • – Made for the PSP so the graphics aren’t very smooth
  • – I found I had to run it with Anti-Aliasing on otherwise the screen would blink and have lines running across it whenever I moved (not a problem for me but for players with lower system specs it might be a problem)
  • – Loads of voices to choose for character customisation but I haven’t actually heard my character make any kind of noise yet… pointless?
  • + Talking to characters in game gives you some nice tips rather than having to read through all the information in the database
  • + Short and clear tutorials

 

Total War: Warhammer

Popular Steam User Tags: Strategy, Fantasy, War, RTS, Multiplayer.

Metacritic Score: 86

This game is both Single and Multiplayer with Steam achievements and trading cards.

total-war-warhammer-game-main-art

I bought this game because I have played Total War: Shogun 2 which I really enjoyed. I’ve not played Warhammer yet, but I’ve had about 20 hours on Shogun so since it’s the same series I can imagine the gameplay is very similar, if not the same. It was a decent price at £13.59 (66% off) since it’s only a year old.

For me, the turn based gameplay took quite a while to get used to, and I’m still not sure what all the options do and how to really go about with strategies. I’m sure by playing Total War: Warhammer, I will be able to learn and progress with this type of gameplay. I’ll be playing this with a friend which is why I haven’t tried it yet.

Syberia 1 & 2

Popular Steam User Tags: Adventure, Point & Click, Puzzle, Steampunk.

Metacritic Scores: Syberia 1 – 80, Syberia 2 – 82

Single player only with steam trading cards for both games.

syberia

I’ve actually heard Syberia 2 being mentioned a lot in the past month which I thought was strange since it was release in 2004. I actually picked this up on Origin for free when it was part of the “On The House” offer (I can’t remember when) but I never gave it much thought to see what it was about. It was only 70p more to buy the second game in a bundle with the first one, so I thought it was best to get them both on Steam since I don’t actually use Origin for anything (£1.49 each or £2.19 together in a bundle).

After looking into it, since I’d heard it being mentioned a lot, it turns out it seems quite similar to “The Longest Journey”. For those of you that don’t know about TLJ trilogy I really recommend you look it up. I bought “The Longest Journey” and “Dreamfall: The Longest Journey” two years ago in the Steam summer sale and the 3rd game “Dreamfall Chapters” last Steam Summer Sale. I finished Dreamfall Chapters in January and I loved all of them – I’ll talk more about them in a different post when I replay them (which will be soon since Dreamfall Chapters had a big update in May).

But anyway, now I’m expecting Syberia to be similar to TLJ, so I really wanted to give it a go (since I loved TLJ so much). Again, I haven’t played them yet since I only bought them yesterday but I’m eager to start. I’ll post a review on them when I’m done playing.

 

Games I really wanted but didn’t buy (and why I didn’t buy them):

NieR:Automata

Popular Steam User Tags: Great Soundtrack, Story Rich, Action, RPG.

Metacritic Score: 84

Single player with Steam achievements and partial controller support.

Nier-Automata-08-HD.png

I added this game to my wishlish as soon as it was available to pre-order. I love the style and the graphics look great as well as it seeming like a game I could get really into playing. I understand that this game was only released in March, but I still think it was a bit pricey at £27.99, even though 30% off is a good price considering how new it is. I was considering buying it anyway as I’m so eager to play this game, however I read up on it and apparently the PC port is awful and lots of people say you will need to download third party software to mod it to make it playable. Sorry, but I’m not paying nearly £30 for a game that doesn’t run properly. It hasn’t had an update since the release to fix the problems but there’s already DLC for it… that is a problem.

TLDR: I’m waiting until the PC port of the game actually works, but I can’t say I’ve heard any other negatives. In other words, I’m still so excited to play this game – Steam Winter Sale perhaps?

Even writing about it is making me want it… I have a feeling I will regret not buying it.

Tales of Berseria:

Popular Steam User Tags: Anime, JRPG, RPG, Female Protagonist, Action.

Metacritic Score: 80

Single Player and Split Screen with controller support, Steam achievements and trading cards.

tales-of-berseria-anteprima-cover

I haven’t really played games like this before so I wasn’t really prepared to spend £23.99 to find out it wasn’t for me. It looks somewhat similar to God Eater with the combat style but I’m not one for researching games religiously before buying in case I ruin it for myself. Basically I chose God Eater instead because it was cheaper and it had Character Customisation, but since I’m liking God Eater I’m sure keeping my eye on this one (I don’t even know if it’s anything like God Eater – but the combat and style looks similar).

Black Desert Online:

Popular Steam User Tags: Massively Multiplayer, MMORPG, RPG, Fantasy.

Metacritic Score: 74

Online multiplayer and co-op with partial controller support, Steam achievements and trading cards.

banner.jpg.df8d189307c0938577f2ed3b9a2d3cb0

Basically I’m not even sure if I want to get into another MMO. I don’t even play Guild Wars 2 much anymore – hence it taking me so long with my Druid Stone posts! I downloaded TERA a few months ago and didn’t even get round to creating a character so I didn’t really want to pay for Black Desert, even though it is only £5.59. I think I’m just a little bit scared of completely losing interest in GW to another MMO since I’ve played over 2000 hours of GW and still haven’t finished my Legendary Weapon yet! Graphics look great though and it would definitely be my next choice of MMO if I was to play another.

I’d like to start doing some reviews on other games, so stay tuned and I’ll try to broaden my horizons and let you know what I think!

